Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for September 20th, 2010

#87 – Finally Complete

I have read 50/50 of my owned but unread books.

A week or so ago, I completed my 50th book that I owned but had not read.  The Once and Future King was a double offender, since both the hubs and I owned it when we combined our book collections.  And neither of us had read it.  I think that made it a particularly good choice for my last book on this goal.  (And since the copy that we kept and that I read was actually the hubs, there isn’t any question about keeping it this time.)

The book is in four parts.  The first one was the basis for The Sword in the Stone, while in the second Arthur is beguiled and begets Mordred.  The third was the longest part, and the basis for Camelot, which was light on Arthur and heavy on Guinevere and Lancelot.  And of course, the final part is where everything comes undone.

I was interested in reading this because I know several versions of the Arthurian stories.  So the text was both familiar and new.  I found it a bit hard to get into, but once I did, it was a quick read.

And so I complete another goal on my list.  I expected to have this one completed far earlier, since I was over halfway through my 50  books by the end of the first calendar year.  I decided to keep 36 out of the 50, but I got rid of 15 books from this goal.  (One of the ones I decided to sell had a sequel that I decided to sell without reading.  Bonus!)  And all of those books have now left our apartment.  I was able to sell some and donated the others.  They are now on their way to other homes, where I hope someone will enjoy them more than I.

And with the addition of a recent purge by the hubs, our bookshelves now have a bit of room to grow.  Not that it will last long, but it is a nice feeling right now.

Read Full Post »