Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for September 21st, 2010

#13 – One Last Movie

The hubs and I have now watched 31/102 movies in my book.

A couple of weekends ago, the hubs and I watched The Seven Year Itch instantly from Netflix.  The photo to the right is the most famous scene in the movie, and didn’t really happen like this.  They showed much less of good ol’ Marilyn getting her skirt blown up.

We thought that this was a rather bad movie.  The entire premise was a bit much for me: New York City wives and children head off to the beach and husbands run amuck.  Not exactly a plot that was right up my alley.  And then there was the conceit that the main male lead had an overactive imagination.  This resulted in him talking to himself and daydreaming sequences throughout the movie.

All in all, I’m saying we’re not going to rush out and buy it .

It will probably be the last movie that we watch in the book, so I wanted to take this opportunity to address this goal as a whole.  I enjoyed the idea of this much more than I enjoyed the practice of it.  It did help us stretch out of our movie comfort zone a bit, but we often didn’t enjoy the movies.  And life is too short to watch all the movies in a book which you’ve found you don’t agree with over half of the time.

So this goal will not be completed over the next eight days.  Not because I don’t have time (though that’s obviously also true), but because I decided a while ago that I wasn’t interested enough in it to invest the necessary time.  I just like the concept of the goal so much more than the list I was hoping to complete.

And that’s the great thing about this project.  Even in a nominal “failed” goal, I learned a bit.  I watched movies that I wouldn’t have otherwise watched, and I made a choice to stop watching those movies once they started to feel like homework.  This goal was about expanding my horizons and the limited work that I put in on that yielded limited results on that front.  Definitely a case of getting out what you put in.  And I’m completely comfortable with my level or return for this goal.

Read Full Post »