Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for September 27th, 2010

#96 – Inventory Complete!

Friends, my 1001 is up tomorrow.  TOMORROW.  Though a few months ago it felt like I’d been working on this 101 list forever, it now feels like the time has flown by.  And I have a few lingering goals that I’ve been working on and hope to finish up today or tomorrow.  (Nothing like working until the deadline, right?)

With that in mind, I went around my apartment today with my camera to finish up our insurance inventory, just in time to alter our insurance coverage as it renews.  The hubs and I used a spreadsheet to list all our insurable possessions, including make, model, serial number and other distinguishing factors.  I took photos of groups of items.  All of this information now resides on my computer and is backed up in online storage.  We also have a database for our books and movies.  The reports with the details of those items are also backed up online.

We’ll be calling our insurance company this week with questions about specific items.  At that time, I’ll ask what they recommend for documenting items for which we don’t have receipts.  (At this point, that would be the majority of what we own.  A lot of it was given to us for our wedding.)  And we’ll be making it a point to check over our inventory fairly regularly to make sure that it stays up to date.

This was a long process, but I am relieved that it is complete.  Especially if we are going to have a move in our future.

Read Full Post »